Why Noir, Pt. 1

It’s the authenticity I think.

What is it about this type of film that draws me in? I was wondering about it on the way home tonight. I wonder about it a lot actually.

The real steel probably is part of it. At least part of the Part 1 part. In my imagination, the steel was more real than the steel today. Like you could feel it when you shut a car door. Sounded better. Heavier.

And the smoking. I sorta liked that everyone was always smoking. And drinking too. It was out there, not hidden. Everyone was doing a lot of both. Shamelessly. Not like they should have been ashamed, but more like, they were not ashamed.

The authenticity.

Leave a Reply

